Worked All States Using CW Mode

For just about a year I have been stuck at 49 states confirmed in CW mode (Morse code), needing only Alaska.  This month has seen an uptick in CW activity with the Straight Key Century Club (SKCC) during their Straight Key Month event.   A couple of AK stations were showing up on the SKCC Sked page but I couldn’t copy them late in the day so messaged one to say I’d like to try him during daylight on one of the higher frequency bands.  He got back to me quickly and said he was on 20m and had good propagation to Texas so we established a weak but readable SKCC exchange and logged it.  Thanks to N1TX/KL7 who made it happen and quickly uploaded to LoTW for an official WAS-CW award.  Larry is pretty far up there in Fairbanks so it was a very pleasant surprise to get it done.  Logbook of the World now shows my CW WAS status:

WAS CW LoTW

Importing LoTW to QRZ also shows up as WAS in QRZ:

WAS CW QRZ1

QRZ now shows a mixed band CW mode endorsement on my United States award:

WAS CW QRZ2

Also updated WAS status on my QRZ bio:

WAS CW QRZ3

This is a big award, worthy of a CW mode WAS certificate, shown below. #2981, meaning fewer than 3000 other hams have applied for it before me.  A bit surprising; seems like a low number.  My mixed mode WAS cert is #60761 (as expected), and digital cert is #3461 (somewhat understandable).

WAS CW Cert

One thought on “Worked All States Using CW Mode

Leave a comment